top of page

Whistle Wisdom 2024-25

Public·1 member

Rule Interpretation #17 2/5/25

Wrestler B is bit by Wrestler A during the second period of the match. Wrestler A is leading 5-4 in the third period, when Wrestler B shows the referee the bite marks after a break in the action. The referee awards the match to Wrestler B by disqualification via Flagrant Misconduct for biting.


Is this proper procedure?



The rule states that if in the opinion of the referee a wrestler bites the opponent this will be deemed intentional biting and will be called flagrant misconduct.


However, when the referee makes this call it must be an occurrence that is brought to the referee's attention during that period.


Therefore, since it was brought to the attention of the referee in the third period, and took place in the second period there is no penalty. (8-1-6)

27 Views
rrud58
rrud58
Feb 05

A bite is a flagrant misconduct. It must be shown to the official immediately and during the period it occurred to be enforced. Because WA bit WB in the second period but it was not shown to the official until the 3rd period, it is not enforceable.

North Star Wrestling Officials Association

©2022 by North Star Wrestling Officials Association. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page