top of page

Groups Feed

View groups and posts below.


This post is from a suggested group

2024-25 Whistle Wisdom Concludes

Season 3 of Whistle Wisdom has ended as we hit the postseason.


Hopefully, you have learned a great deal this year and improved yourself as an official.


30 Views
ptcyr54
ptcyr54
11 feb

Thanks for all the good stuff!

This post is from a suggested group

Rule Interpretation #18 2/10/25

Following two minutes of recovery time, Wrestler A is unable to continue after being injured from an illegal hold/maneuver by Wrestler B.


Wrestler A wishes to default the match to the opponent and indicates this desire to the referee after recovery time has expired.


Is this proper procedure?


No, Wrestler A is declared the winner by default. (5-17-2)

 

In order to default the match, Wrestler A or Wrestler A's coach would have to indicate this desire to the referee prior to the conclusion of wrestling. A default can only occur during a match.


29 Views

I've read this about 6 times and I don't understand it :) Why does Wrestler A want to default to B?

IMHO, Wrestler A wins by DQ if they cant continue after their Recovery time is up.

This post is from a suggested group

Video #17 2/6/25



In this neutral situation are you awarding at TD?


I am not awarding a TD, as control is not established and the Green wrestlers foot ends up on the floor.

62 Views

No Takedown because foot was off the mat and I don't see any control by the offensive guy even though the cradle is locked up the green wrestler could easily slip out so no control.

This post is from a suggested group

Rule Interpretation #17 2/5/25

Wrestler B is bit by Wrestler A during the second period of the match. Wrestler A is leading 5-4 in the third period, when Wrestler B shows the referee the bite marks after a break in the action. The referee awards the match to Wrestler B by disqualification via Flagrant Misconduct for biting.


Is this proper procedure?


The rule states that if in the opinion of the referee a wrestler bites the opponent this will be deemed intentional biting and will be called flagrant misconduct.


However, when the referee makes this call it must be an occurrence that is brought to the referee's attention during that period.


Therefore, since it was brought to the attention of the referee in the third period, and took place in the second period there is no penalty. (8-1-6)

27 Views
rrud58
rrud58
05 feb

A bite is a flagrant misconduct. It must be shown to the official immediately and during the period it occurred to be enforced. Because WA bit WB in the second period but it was not shown to the official until the 3rd period, it is not enforceable.

This post is from a suggested group

Video #16 2/4/25



The situation is match score 7 Green-6 Red in TB 2.


Green earned an escape in TB 1.


TB 2, Red chose down and Green had ridden for approximately 20 seconds.


What is your call for the action which occurs at the end of TB 2?


I am awarding LOC as red escaped during the action before time was out.


29 Views

Easy call (had to enlarge the video to tell when the timer tapped).... 1 escape send into ultimate tie breaker.

This post is from a suggested group

Rule Interpretation #16 2/3/25


During the first period of a match, the two wrestlers butt heads and Wrestler A is obviously injured and is granted an HNC time-out by the referee so the on-site appropriate health-care professional can evaluate the  injured wrestler. During this time-out, Wrestler B's nose starts to bleed.


What is the procedure for the referee to follow?  


First, Wrestler A shall be granted an HNC time-out. As soon as it is detected that B is bleeding, the HNC time-out for Wrestler A would be paused, and blood time for Wrestler B would be started.  

 

In any bleeding situation, the blood time-out takes precedence over all time-outs.


In this situation, however, because the HNC came to the attention of the referee first, it would count as one of  Wrestler A’s HNC time-outs as well as the amount of HNC time that was used prior to the bleeding being discovered. After blood time-out…


26 Views

Regretfully, I have to agree with Rick 😁

This post is from a suggested group

Video #15 1/30/25



Is LOC earned in this TB situation?


Rod's interpretation below is correct. No LOC.


48 Views
Rod Frost
Rod Frost
06 feb

Based on the video we see here no loss of control. See case book page 24 5.10.situation B. Must break the locked hands and separate to the point they both do not reach the midline of the back to be a loss of control. The hands were either locked or did not cross the midline of the back, based on the video as we see it.

This post is from a suggested group

Rules Interpretation #15 1/29/25

If a wrestler is hurt or becomes ill during the match and cannot continue, does the opponent receive a forfeit?


No, the opponent would receive a default because the match has started and one of the wrestlers is unable to continue wrestling for any reason. (5-7)

38 Views

A default is awarded when a wrestler is unable to continue wrestling for any reason. The opponent wins and the defaulting wrestler receives the loss.

This post is from a suggested group

Video #14 1/28/25



This is a State Championship match.


What is your call?

41 Views

Difficult without seeing the camera, looks like the the table worker is calling out the time. Should be the right call based on actions.

North Star Wrestling Officials Association

©2022 by North Star Wrestling Officials Association. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page