top of page

Whistle Wisdom 2024-25

Public·1 member

2024-25 Whistle Wisdom Concludes

Season 3 of Whistle Wisdom has ended as we hit the postseason.


Hopefully, you have learned a great deal this year and improved yourself as an official.


31 Views
ptcyr54
ptcyr54
11 лют.

Thanks for all the good stuff!

Rule Interpretation #18 2/10/25

Following two minutes of recovery time, Wrestler A is unable to continue after being injured from an illegal hold/maneuver by Wrestler B.


Wrestler A wishes to default the match to the opponent and indicates this desire to the referee after recovery time has expired.


Is this proper procedure?


No, Wrestler A is declared the winner by default. (5-17-2)

 

In order to default the match, Wrestler A or Wrestler A's coach would have to indicate this desire to the referee prior to the conclusion of wrestling. A default can only occur during a match.


30 Views
Jill Czeck
Jill Czeck
11 лют.

I've read this about 6 times and I don't understand it :) Why does Wrestler A want to default to B?

IMHO, Wrestler A wins by DQ if they cant continue after their Recovery time is up.

Video #17 2/6/25



In this neutral situation are you awarding at TD?


I am not awarding a TD, as control is not established and the Green wrestlers foot ends up on the floor.

62 Views
Dalton Barrett
Dalton Barrett
06 лют.

No Takedown because foot was off the mat and I don't see any control by the offensive guy even though the cradle is locked up the green wrestler could easily slip out so no control.

Rule Interpretation #17 2/5/25

Wrestler B is bit by Wrestler A during the second period of the match. Wrestler A is leading 5-4 in the third period, when Wrestler B shows the referee the bite marks after a break in the action. The referee awards the match to Wrestler B by disqualification via Flagrant Misconduct for biting.


Is this proper procedure?


The rule states that if in the opinion of the referee a wrestler bites the opponent this will be deemed intentional biting and will be called flagrant misconduct.


However, when the referee makes this call it must be an occurrence that is brought to the referee's attention during that period.


Therefore, since it was brought to the attention of the referee in the third period, and took place in the second period there is no penalty. (8-1-6)

27 Views
rrud58
rrud58
05 лют.

A bite is a flagrant misconduct. It must be shown to the official immediately and during the period it occurred to be enforced. Because WA bit WB in the second period but it was not shown to the official until the 3rd period, it is not enforceable.

North Star Wrestling Officials Association

©2022 by North Star Wrestling Officials Association. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page